wax question

Search this Thread

Old 11-18-2012, 05:49 PM
Dedalus

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
wax question

I've been using carnuba liquid wax for about 15 years. I changed to it because I'd heard of the ease of application and that it doesn't collect in areas where you don't want it. Recently, I thought I'd give carnuba paste another shot. And it totally reminded me of why I went away from the paste. It was harder to apply, and it did collect where I don't want it.

So two questions:
What is the benefit, if any, of using paste? Fro the last 15 years, my cars have looked amazing with the other stuff. (Makes you wonder why I went back to paste, but there was just a lot of using the paste on waxing how-tos.)

How do I get rid of this wax that is on the black plastic areas? The kind that shows up again and again everytime I wash. If I wipe really hard, it mostly just reduces the amount of whiteness, but the traces are still quite obvious. I was as careful as I could be to avoid getting it on those areas in the first place. The only other option is to be so far away from plastic that I also don't wax the painted areas near the plastic.

Thanks,
Mike
Old 12-19-2012, 03:21 PM
Intermediate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
to get of the wax build up on the plastic i use an old tooth brush and quick detail or plastic cleaner. cut the bristles on the tooth brush so that they are short and it will be easier to concentrate into an area without a lot of flex from the normal bristle length.
Old 03-22-2013, 11:23 AM
Instructor

Received 36 Likes on 12 Posts
You might try masking those areas that present the biggest problems regarding over application of way.
Old 03-22-2013, 03:01 PM
Instructor

Received 31 Likes on 26 Posts