Flair shift in 3rd, 4th, and 5th

Search this Thread

Old 03-13-2016, 06:03 PM
10th Gear

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Car in question is a 2001 CL with just under 200k, Bone stock as far as I know.

I bought the car for a very good price, knowing that it had a bad trans. The little bit I did drive it, it had a flair shift when hot while shifting into 3rd and 4th.

After a full rebuild and shift kit, I just got it back onto the road yesterday. It still has the flair shift but now it does it when cold or hot, when shifting into 3rd, 4th and 5th. Any ideas on the cause of this? I'm thinking it may be the Lockup solenoid, but I'm new to transmission rebuilding so I'm after some advice.

Thanks in advance
Old 03-15-2016, 10:40 AM
Cruisin'

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
What kind of transmission fluid are you using? And the tcc being clogged would cause shuddering. The a/b solenoid controls the gear to gear switching from what I understand, I cleaned mine and that may have solved my flaring I had. Take a look at my thread in the CL section, its still in progress
The following users liked this post:
jansenjosh (03-16-2016)
Old 03-15-2016, 10:07 PM
Pro

Received 86 Likes on 81 Posts
You need to adjust the A - B solenoids on top of the trans Sonnex sells a tool it's about $20. Mine did the same thing after rebuild, made to adjustments (1/4 turn each) the flairing was resolved. If that does not fix it replace the A-B solenoid and an adjustment may still be needed. The adjustment was intended for compensation of internal wear, the shift kit really changes the internal flow characteristics of the trans for the better, but you have to adjust for it. If you did not replace the two pressure switches with the rebuild you should do that as well.
jansenjosh (03-16-2016)
Old 03-16-2016, 06:17 AM
10th Gear

Originally Posted by Warzone2159