You might want to know....

Search this Thread

Old 10-13-2001 | 11:42 AM
CL-Vet

You might want to know....

About the latest targets of car thieves. As some of you may know, I'm a cop in Westchester Co., NY. Most of you already know about the headlights on the cl/tl being a favorite target. That has not changed, I take several reports a week on that. I know some on this board have other cars so I thought I'd share what has become the latest targets of these thieves over the last few weeks:

BMW- All models, thieves are breaking into BMWs through divers side door, checking glove box for "plastic" key which can start the car. If key is found, car is stolen. If there is no key, the thieves are taking assorted parts almost always including the spare tire (valued at $600.) & speakers.

Toyota Camry (00-02) Driver side window is shattered, entry gained, with stereo removed in UNDER 3 minutes!

You should also know this has happened MOSTLY in huge public lots such as Home Depot, Costco, Movie lots and mall lots during all hours of the day. Worst part is amount of damage left on all 3 cars. The damage to the Acuras sometimes include the hood itself. The security systems on all these cars (after-market or not) have been useless. I had to take AT LEAST 15-20 reports on this in the past month, and I only worked 18 days last month! And always on these 3 cars! No American cars, No Lexus' etc. It's realy bad in the NY/NJ/CT metro area...Anyway just BE AWARE!! If some of you already knew about this or if a warning had previously been posted, sorry for re-hashing. BTW, we are trying very hard to catch someone in the act with decoy cars (mine was used) etc. Hopefully, we will, but catching 1 or 2 in the act is not going to stop such a wide spread problem. L8r
Old 10-13-2001 | 12:23 PM
The Creator

ouch :o

how do we protect our cars if alarms dont work? flame throwers on the sides like in argentina?
Old 10-13-2001 | 12:29 PM
Powered By HONDA

thanks for sharing the info