New ECU -- engine idle dips low

Search this Thread

Old 12-28-2004, 10:50 PM
3rd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New ECU -- engine idle dips low

I bought the car I've been lusting over for four years now -- a silver CL Type S with black leather. I bought the car knowing it had a bad tranns and sure enough at 75K it went. No big deal, Acura took care of it, and i got the whole deal, trans, ECU, etc.

Anyway, I noticed that after the ECU upgrade (this is the only thing that changed engine wise) the car would sometimes "surge" very slightly mind you; but enough to notice when it would dip below ~750-800 RPM as indicated on the TACH. This is normally felt by a "grumble" or a slight vibration from the normally silky smooth demeanor of the engine when sitting at a stoplight after moving for a bit.

Anybody else notice this? I played it off that the ECU needed to "learn" what was going on and my driving style, but at 3500 miles later, i'm still noticing this. I know i know, i should have went back to the dealer, but i just don't have the time to dick around with this and it really hasn't hurt anything (MPGs etc) but it's just kind of annoying.

It doesn't happen all the time, i would say 40% -- mostly after harder driving but by no means WOT or 130 MPH... just after rollin' 90 MPH on the freeway and slowing to a stop or half to three quarter accelerations and the stopping.

Anybody see this with their Acuras?

This is my first post by the way, and i can say thus far, the board is great!

This is also my first Acura and besides a few rattles here and there, this car is everything I imagined it would be!

Thanks!

Nick
'01 CL-S
'03 CBR600RR
'91 GMC S-15 Jimmy (171K on the stock trans! )
Old 12-28-2004, 11:05 PM
Instructor