Got my first ticket 94mph in 65mph...what to do?

Search this Thread

Old 12-16-2001 | 11:18 PM
trying to get a lil V-I

Got my first ticket 94mph in 65mph...what to do?

I've been driving for seven years now and I've had a completely clean record. I was on my way back from NYC to Pittsburgh tonight and I got tagged doing 94mph (in 65mph zone) on the PA Turnpike 2.5 hrs from my home.

I don't have time to go to the court hearing because I don't have any vacation left. Here are my options so far:

- My buddy told me to get a lawyer representing me ($$$), supposedly has worked for him several times.
- Another one of my buddies said don't worry about it because I have out of state plates/license/registration so the points don't transfer. I'm from Washington State.

I can pay the ticket, that's not the problem. I just don't want it to effect my insurance premium.

Any other ideas or insights?
Old 12-16-2001 | 11:39 PM

i would expect too many handouts going 29 over. Friend of mine have lost her licenses for 30 days doing 89 in a 65.
Old 12-17-2001 | 12:13 AM
Community Architect
robb m.

fight it with a good lawyer....bottom line, that is ALWAYS your BEST option in terms of INSURANCE and PITA stuff to deal with...
Old 12-17-2001 | 01:59 AM
Moderator Alumnus

how did it happen?

you have two ways:
1. file a "motion of discovery" - up to the state to prove that the equipment used to ticket you was certified, tested, calibrated, and that the officer was fully lisenced to use the radar gun or whatever. the state has to pesent that at the date of the court. lots of hoops to jump though for one damn speeding ticket, so they probably wont waste thir time.
2. ask the judge fo "probation before judgement" it is your first ticket and you are entitled to one ticket being dropped from your record only once in your driving career. this one sounds important enough, so you might want to consider that option

but you should atmempt both of the things i mentioned.