Brake pad review

Search this Thread

Old 04-14-2005, 10:13 AM
DP's for life

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Brake pad review

I have had the oppurtunity to try a few sets of brake pads on my car, so I thought it would be a good idea to provide my own personal review of these pads.

I have rotora Slotted and Drilled rotors front and rear.

I rated these pads based on inital bite, fade, dust, and pad noise.

Stock pads: Inital bite 7, fade 6, dust 8, pad noise 8.
Axxis Ultimates: Inital bite 9, fade 9, dust 5, pad noise 6.
EBC Greenstuff: Inital bite 8, fade 8, dust 9, pad noise 8.

I rated the pads based on a 1-10 system where 10 would be the best.
Overall i rated the EBC Greenstuff the best, but I found the Axxis Ultimates to have better braking performance. The stock pads are not bad when you get rid of stock rotors, they seem to perform pretty well.

I wanted to let you know that I am not a brake expert by any means, but I wanted to provide my own personal review of these pads.

There are many other pads that I have not tried, but It would great if you gave your own review of the pads that you have tried.
Old 04-14-2005, 10:22 AM
Bleed Honda Blue

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Stock usually have the least pad noise.
Old 04-14-2005, 10:34 AM
Suzuka Master

Received 708 Likes on 550 Posts
I've ordered Akebano Ceramic pad set from tirerack.com.
I've heard good things about them, they should be better than stock, and only costs $52.
I also got Brembo blank rotoros for $57 each (vs. $100+ for OEM rotor).
Brembo blank + Akebano pads should be better and cheaper combination that stock.
Old 04-14-2005, 10:38 AM
DP's for life

Good point...Yeah I should have set the pad noise as 7 for the EBC...
Originally Posted by sgmotoring
Stock usually have the least pad noise.
Old 04-14-2005, 03:00 PM
Burning Brakes

Originally Posted by russianDude
I've ordered Akebano Ceramic pad set from tirerack.com.