but you can check it out

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eb...756251&r=0&t=0

sidemarker
Old 06-06-2002, 01:22 PM
Retired. Not available.

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Weird.

The pictures have the K&N mounted at the wrong end

If that is how it's really mounted, it cannot be connected to the throttle body unless you keep the stock rubber hose (like X-CAI setup). If that is the case, wtf are the nipples and the blue hoses for?

Since the pictures are taken with the cone mounted wrong (proved the seller doesn't know anything about the CL-S engine bay), I really doubt the claimed performance gain.
Old 06-12-2002, 02:55 PM
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I am a newbie (just got my 01 CL-S, 2 weeks ago, and I love it!).

Anyhoo, I just bought this kit, still haven't received it yet, but when first saw it I thought it looked mounted wrong, so I emailed the seller and he admitted it was. I don't doubt that the seller's claims in HP gain are exaggerated, but this should be better than stock, right? I mean the effectiveness of the Short Ram Air is gonna be most affected by the filter, and K&N is a good brand. I know everyone is gonna tell me to go CAI, but I don't want to void my warranty. When I get this thing in I will let you know how it feels.

Worst case, scenario I'm out $100, and I learn a valuable lesson.
Old 06-12-2002, 03:40 PM
Senior Moderator

Received 1,760 Likes on 1,046 Posts
Originally posted by jmeffe

Anyhoo, I just bought this kit, still haven't received it yet, but when first saw it I thought it looked mounted wrong, so I emailed the seller and he admitted it was. I don't doubt that the seller's claims in HP gain are exaggerated, but this should be better than stock, right? I mean the effectiveness of the Short Ram Air is gonna be most affected by the filter, and K&N is a good brand. I know everyone is gonna tell me to go CAI, but I don't want to void my warranty. When I get this thing in I will let you know how it feels.