Need opinions on '06 tsx

Search this Thread

Old 03-09-2011, 09:55 AM
2nd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Need opinions on '06 tsx

Hello I'm new to Acura,

For years I've owned and worked on volvos and have most recently owned a couple of VW GTI's. I'm looking at an '06 TSX that I'd like to use in my Real Estate business.

I'm looking to Acura because of Honda's reliability and I'm seeking low overhead/maintenance costs as well as a car that I can work on myself. This car would accommodate 4 people is reasonably quick and doesn't appear to be just a cheap car, it seems comfortable.

This car has 67,401 mi. and is offered at $14,995. This falls into the price range. So I need to know, given the mileage what :
  1. major maintenance issues are upon me should I get this car: timing belt/chain/clutch/other maintenance needs associated with this car/engine/drivetrain?
  2. What quirks do these cars have? I have read about possible battery issues (minor).
  3. What should I look for when I inspect the car.
  4. Is this a car that I can expect reliability from since it has so many bells and whistles is there more breakage/malfuntions?
  5. I am not above maintenance and even some major work but truth be told I don't want to spend a lot of time (constantly working on this car. I need it to be ready to go and possibly since it is an '06 I can provide needed maintenance now and have 4-5 years of reasonably trouble free driving. Is this a reasonable expectation?

I appreciate your opinions and guidance.

Thanks, Bonton
Old 03-10-2011, 09:58 AM
mrgold35

Received 1,518 Likes on 1,184 Posts
I have a CGP 06 5AT w/ navi with quartz interior with +72,000 trouble free miles I purchased new in May/06. I don’t eat or smoke in the car, commuter car for family of 3, always put 91 Octane from Sam’s club, no engine mods except for K/N air filter, and garage kept 70% of the time. I added a few extras like:

A-spec body kit
Rear wing
Acura racing pedals
OEM All weather mats