OEM Rear Backup Camera

Search this Thread

Old 11-27-2007 | 10:19 AM
RGSTRD TL & TSX Offdr

OEM Rear Backup Camera

Hi All,

I have been driving around with the TSX for almost six months now. I do a lot of parking in city areas and I hate the blind spot that the TSX has when in reverse. I was browsing around Handa Accessories and noticed that they have a Honda Back-Up Camera Kit for the new '08 Accord Sedan. The entire kit is under $400 and I would really be down to do the modification if it can be physically done.

I need someone who is more technically inclined to tell me if it can be done. Can it be added directly to the DVD unit and work out the box or plug and play? Would it sit flush above the license plate and look as if it were a stock feature on the TSX? Can I have a Acura dealer do the install (if applicable) for me since it is a Honda accessory?

I have enclosed the direct links to the product listing and the Honda instructions for the kit:

Product Listing

Instructions
Old 11-27-2007 | 12:34 PM
Racer

interestingly enough they also have an ambient lighting setup for the 08 accord...maybe that would work with the TSX as well....certainly would be sharp...sorry not trying to hijack the thread...
Old 11-27-2007 | 02:28 PM
10th Gear

I have looked into the backup camera option from the 2008 Accord also. From looking at the instructions the bracket where the camera mounts is in the same spot as where our "trunk latch button" is. On the 2008 Accord I don't think they have a trunk latch like how it is on the TSX. I know on my father's 2007 Accord there isn't a trunk latch. You have to use the remote control or the inside latch in order to open the trunk.

Originally Posted by slickrab
Hi All,