Preventing Door Dings Guide

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2008, 08:02 PM
Burning Brakes

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Preventing Door Dings Guide

Even though I'm no expert at this, and bad luck always comes into play for anyone, I wanna share my rules of parking to prevent other tsx owners from getting dings and scratches. My car currently has about 2 noticeable dings, one bumper stamp, and 4 or so door scratches all caused by people that are careless and ignorant of other peoples property. So here are some rules and explanations on why I used them. Please feel free to add to the list, maybe there something I should try.

1. Never park in tight spots - even if you can get out, expect the worst from people next to you.

2. Avoid parking in a "double driver" situation - a double driver is when the car on the left is backed in. Since all cars have to have a driver and only sometimes a passenger, you don't want to park in a way where you know two cars next to you will have doors opening towards yours.

3. Never park next to a handicap spot - I'm not discriminating anyone, but they have handicap designation for reasons. Either the passenger or driver has a hard time moving physically - this means that their door exits need more space, they need leverage on something. Don't let your TSX be that leverage.

4. Never park next to a minivan - Minivan = potential of kids. Kids, for the most part, don't realize that they can damage paint by rubbing up onto the car and sometimes fool around. Of course not all kids are, but this is about reducing chances.