Negotiating a good price for 05 TSX tips

Search this Thread

Old 09-21-2005, 09:14 PM
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Negotiating a good price for 05 TSX tips

As a newbie here, I am lookin at purchasing a 05 or 06 TSX.
I have found some helpful hints on here but also found a great site to help in negotiating price. The thing is though is that I dont how well this works with Acura Dealers. Here's What I found:

(in my own words)
"
To find a good negotiating price you must first find the cost of the car to dealer. This is done by taking the MSRP and multipling it by the Holdback %.
In this case Acura has a 3% Holdback percentage.
Holdback = (MSRP + Destination )*(.03)
Cost to Dealer = Invoice - Holdback
Negotiating Price - Cost to Dealer = Profit for Dealer

Usually 3.5% is the avg profit for a dealer.
Therefore Negotiating price = Cost to Dealer * (1.035)
"

This seemed very useful so I did it on the TSX:

TSX w/o NAV MSRP: 27,805
Invoice: (From dealer) = 25,399
Destination: 615
Holdback @ 3% = 852.60
Dealer Cost = 24,546.40

Negotiable Prices:
@3.5% -> 25,406
@4.0% ->25,528
@4.5% -> 25,651
@5.0% -> 25,774
@6.5% -> 25,142

THIS MEANS THAT IF A DEALER IS SELLING A CAR TO YOU AT 25,142 .... he is making a 6.5% profit.

GUYS DO YOU BELIEVE THESE NUMBERS THAT I HAVE CALCULATED. DO YOU THINK DEALERS COST IS LESS OR GREATER THAN POSTED PRICE.

The dealer of Ardmore Acura told me his Internet Price was 26,149. I am wondering how much I can bring that down. Note that the invoice price is at around 3.3% profit.

I dont know what to think of these calculations. Responses would be greatly appreciated. Also he's saying add 750 for an 06 TSX from the internet price given. I dont think 750 is that bad considering it is prob easy to bring that down to 500.
Old 09-21-2005, 09:24 PM
Instructor