Can you get a tint ticket outside of your state?

Search this Thread

Old 03-13-2006, 09:53 AM
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Can you get a tint ticket outside of your state?

I'm a CA resident, and I have friends who are cops in CA, so if I get a fix-it tint ticket I don't have to worry about it. However, I am in Utah a lot. Could I get a tint ticket in Utah and have to remove the tint to clear that ticket? Or could they not give me a fix-it ticket since I'm not a resident of their state (CA plates, CA license).
Old 03-13-2006, 10:06 AM
Team Owner

Received 378 Likes on 198 Posts
I would imagine that if you have out of state plates, you're not bound by their local vehicle code. And since they can't enforce CA law, you should be in the clear.
Old 03-13-2006, 10:10 AM
Senior Moderator

Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
I think they can enforce their own local law when you are on their turf, much like speeding or other criminal offenses.
Old 03-13-2006, 10:12 AM
Instructor

Originally Posted by JTso
I think they can enforce their own local law when you are on their turf, much like speeding or other criminal offenses.
Yeah I'm sure they can enforce most of the codes.

But what about 'fix-it' type tickets. Examples: too dark tint, no front plate, no mud flaps, etc.
Old 03-13-2006, 10:16 AM
Team Owner

Received 378 Likes on 198 Posts
I think that applies to moving violations, but vehicle code violations are hard to enforce. For instance, if you are from a state that does not issue front plates and drive into a state that requires it, they cannot ticket you for failing to display the front plate.
Old 03-13-2006, 10:32 AM
DC Metro Local Crew