brake pad wear

Search this Thread

Old 06-20-2002, 05:06 PM
4th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
brake pad wear

Any help would be appreciated. Rear passenger inner pad wore twice as fast as the outer. Is it fairly easy to replace the caliper or should I have a shop do it (I'm a novice...but an intelligent one)? If i replace it, should I put a new one on the driver's side? Where can I find literature about brakes for a '97 2.5 tl?
Old 06-20-2002, 05:21 PM
Ex-Mod

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
You want to replace the pads or the caliper?
Old 06-20-2002, 05:32 PM
4th Gear

I'm assumming the cylinder in the caliper is sticking because I have twice as much wear on the inner pad as the outer. Is this assumption correct? If so, I wanna try to replace the caliper myself. Thanks
Old 06-20-2002, 06:48 PM
Burning Brakes

Originally posted by duckdive
I'm assumming the cylinder in the caliper is sticking because I have twice as much wear on the inner pad as the outer. Is this assumption correct? If so, I wanna try to replace the caliper myself. Thanks
Well there is pad on each side of the caliper, and there is only one piston which is on one side. The pads are relatively easy to replace. Not sure about the calipers, if you have the right tools I am sure its not that difficult
Old 06-20-2002, 07:30 PM
Ex-Mod

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
It shouldnt be hard to do. Just make sure thats the problem before you buy another caliper because I bet they're expensive. Keep in mind you'll have to bleed the brakes when you take the lines off so you'll need to have all 4 wheels off the car at the same time. Kind of scary without a lift. I did it to my friends BMW and I was a little worried about it falling. Someone needs to stay in the car and pump the brake.
Old 06-20-2002, 07:35 PM
Instructor

Thumbs up Ceramic Brake Pads