Please help! My baby won't rev past 4000 RPM

Search this Thread

Old 08-26-2012, 11:43 AM
10th Gear

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Please help! My baby won't rev past 4000 RPM

I recently posted on this board a while back. But got zero to no responses on the subject. I think maybe I posted somewhere that it didn't belong? Or people just didn't give a shit? Either way, here's round 2.

I'm a daily driver, and I enjoy (like any other human with a pulse) to speed from time to time. Now I'm not talking 90 down a 25 zone, but 50 in said zone, lol. Here's the thing though. I bought the car back in July from some kid. Problem was, I didn't push the car as I intended because it was still 0800 in a white town, where Hispanics like me would be hung for noise pollution.

Anyway, I was the sucker for that day. But I pushed the car to it's limit on the way home and soon discovered my car wouldn't push past 4000 rpm. I figured it was because the knock sensor was broken. After I replaced the knock sensor, my car would go past 4000 rpm after every start up? Weird huh?

Friend of mine then suggested cleaning out the fluids, which I did. Although the problem seemed resolved after changing the spark plugs, cables, oils, tranny fluid, the problem soon came back. If anything the car now feels like a caged beast confined in a prison cell.

But to give you guys an idea of what I mean, I start the car, drive and push toward and past 4000 rpm. It'll rise and climb to the red. I shift into the next gear and try to push past 4000 rpm, but it'll reach 5500 rpm and it starts to bang against an imaginary wall.