Rear deck/Rear speaker removal and vibration reduction

Search this Thread

Old 07-18-2011, 12:41 PM
Intermediate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Rear deck/Rear speaker removal and vibration reduction

Disclaimer: by using these guides, you are removing me from any liability that is related to any injury that might occur. I would suggest having a friend help you on these installs, if you are unsure about your abilities for any of these projects, get a professional to do it
I was not going for looks here, just clarity of sound. I am sure that there are better ways of stopping the rattle than the method I used, but money was tight and I could not stand the rattle from the sub any longer. Also, I wrote this up really fast on my lunch break, and it is my first time doing one so let me know if any other information or clarity is needed.
Tools/supplies: large socket wrench w/10mm socket and extension, small socket wrench w/ 8mm socket and extension, large and small flathead screwdrivers, exacto knife,rubber (I used 4” wide strips), sound deadening material, new 6 x 9’s (optional).
Heres the materials I used
DSCN1108.jpg?t=1311010455
DSCN1107.jpg?t=1311010490
1. First step is to take out the back seat. Lift up the bottom cushion to give access to the 4 bolts that hold the seat back on. This is where the large 10mm socket comes in. I suggest to leave the front hinge points on the bottom cushion so you can fold it back down to have something to kneel on while your back there doing the rest of the work. After the four bolts are removed push up on the seat back to free it from the 3 hooks holding the top in. Remove seat.
DSCN1103.jpg?t=1311009727