New member, '97 3.0

Search this Thread

Old 02-18-2024, 09:31 AM
5th Gear

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
New member, '97 3.0

Hello!

I just got a primrose 1997 3.0. I had one about 20 years ago and loved it. I've been shopping for another one on and off for a few years and finally found one in great shape, original owner, garage kept, 42k miles! I had to buy it. I will post a few pictures soon. This thing is in better shape than mine from 20 years ago, so I'm very excited about it.

I remember Acurazine was such a great place for info and inspiration back in the day. It looks like it's a lot quieter these days, as one would suspect as these cars become more... vintage! I also noticed a lot of threads sadly have dead links and missing photos after all these years. But there is still tons of great info here and I'm hoping my memories from working on the car will come back to me as needed.

As for plans, well that's the big question at this point. When I was younger, I had very little money but plenty of time. I did most of my own work all over the car, learning as I went. I had big dreams but no means. Now my time and money ratios have pretty much flipped, so now's the time to do what I wanted back in the day! Funny enough, now that I found a car in such great shape and all original, it seems much harder in my mind to change anything about it. But the reason I wanted one again at all was to modify as I always wanted to, so I'm fairly certain I will.

For example, I thought a very quick and minor job to start might be putting in a touchscreen in place of the original radio. But now I'm leaning towards just hooking up an adapter in the back of the radio to connect to my phone and calling that a day to leave the original look inside.