My stereo is a busted!!

Search this Thread

Old 04-28-2001, 05:40 PM
4th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My stereo is a busted!!

Hey folks. Long time reader, first time poster. And oh man i have a lot to say...
I've had my 97 CL 3.0 since August and i've had no unusual problems... until now. Driving down the road a few weeks ago, the BOSE stero just went silent. I thought it might be the radio station, but even CD's didn't make any noise. The display lights up and you can hear the disc spinning, but nothing out of the speakers.
I figured it would be pretty easy to diagnose... fuse, wire, melted cap, etc, but everything seemed fine. I have an amp and sub wired off the back speakers so I disconnected that and checked all the wires connected to the bose amp in the trunk... all fine. I have a degreen in Electrical Engineering so I figured I'd take the stereo apart to look for any burned out componenets... nothing. So with a multimeter I test all the inputs and outputs from the head unit...found a problem. Even though the head unit gets all its power, the switch-on line that turns on the bose amp in the trunk was reading half of what it should be. I forced this to +12V to force the amp on, but still no sound.
"OK", I say. "Being certified pre-owned, my car is under warranty so I'll get the dealer to give me new radio." I take out my sub and ANY sign that it was ever there so they wouldn't give me crap, then I take it in.