is it my exhaust??

Search this Thread

Old 09-03-2002, 07:48 PM
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
is it my exhaust??

hello everyone,
my cl is a stock 97' and i'm experiencing a new sound (a pinging) that occurs only when the car is warmed up and driving. the sound appears to be coming from under the hood somewhere and only when the car is driving, especially when i get a little heavy on the gas. when the sound starts (car is warmed up) the car seems to lose some power as well. when my foot is on the gas it seems as if i can cause or eliminate the sound by raising or lowering the rpms, only when the car is in gear. no pinging in neutral... i'm no auto mechanic, any help is appreciated. thanks in advance!
Old 09-04-2002, 07:34 AM
Midnight Marauder

BAD BAD BAD

If it's a constant sound like it's coming from the engine itself it could be serious. You may have a cylinder detonating too early so the explosion is trying to push the piston down while the mechanical force of the rod and crankshaft is not done pushing the piston up.
Try using a higher octane gas for one tank and see if it goes away.

If it's a mechanical clank type of sound then lift the hood and see if you can locate the area it's in.

Take it in. Take it in. Take it in.
Old 09-04-2002, 06:10 PM
You know him right?

Is it a vibrating sound (similar to a duck?!) If so, mine does the same thing at a certain RPM reading.
Old 09-04-2002, 09:18 PM
Intermediate

a duck, maybe? it reminds me of when i had an old cutlass in high school, sometimes when i turned the car off it would sit there and idle and bounce a little making a pinging sound... someone told me it was crappy gas, but i have no idea. this sound is very similar although it occurs when the car is driving. i think it may be an exhaust leak close to the engine, or something... i will take it in when asap.
Old 09-05-2002, 07:03 AM
Midnight Marauder