'97 CL 2.2 - Blinking Check Engine Light

Search this Thread

Old 05-06-2006, 08:26 PM
Master of the Commode

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy '97 CL 2.2 - Blinking Check Engine Light

Hi to all ... noob here, and a car-dope noob at that.

The 'check engine' light has been on for some time ... I am to understand that this generally points to something to with the oxygen sensor or something ... point being that, aside from getting slightly worse mileage than normal, there's nothing to run around screaming about (I believe the code @ AutoZone read out as P0401 ... naturally, the scan I made of the ticket is on my computer @ work).

Anyway, it's been like that for several months (let's put the over/under @ 6).

Now tonight, I noticed it would start blinking (maybe 3-5 times), stay on (as per what is currently 'normal), and then blink again. My drive one-way happened to be about 15 minutes, and each time I only recall seeing it do the blinking routine twice (meaning, it isn't like - for example - it would blink, stay steady for 2 minutes, blink, stay steady for 2 minutes, etc).

Searching thru the forums, I get the tacit impression that this either points to the aforementioned oxygen sensor problem, or perhaps it's just because the car thinks it wants maintenance (it's @ about 117k).

Now, in the last year alone, the following has been done on the car (from memory):

- rear brakes
- new plugs & wires
- brand-new radiator (and accessories)

Also, I checked all the fluids (except I forgot the power steering fluid, but I have to assume @ the moment it's fine, too). Everything is okey-dokey there.

I did not notice anything 'physically' peculiar about the car (e.g., it isn't driving poorly, not shifting poorly).

I know the obvious answer is to go to the dealer and let them 'fix' it. I am both (a) untrusting ('cause I'm, as I said, a car-dope), and (b) strapped for cash (I know, I know ... who isn't).