Front end problems

Search this Thread

Old 05-28-2013, 09:22 PM
1st Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Front end problems

Hello! I am new to the Acurazine forums and to the mdx world as well. I just bought my 2007 mdx from an older gentleman who took great care of the car (according to him and his family). I absolutely love this vehicle and it is my favorite so far although I did love both of my bullet proof Integras

So far I have changed the oil/oil filter, flushed the transmission, replaced the brake rotors (pads are still new), fixed an o ring leak in the power steering pump, rotated/balanced tires (although they are basically brand new as well), and waxed the car.

The only problem left is a wobble in the front end and some minor clunking noise.

I was told by a dealership mechanic that my front left shock is bad and needs to be replaced, but I REALLY hope that is not it because I have the sport model and the cheapest quote I have received for this part is 750 plus labor.

I do not believe him, however, because although it does clunk like a blown shock, it makes this noise even on smooth roads with very little roughness. Sounds more like a loose bracket or loose bolts. I have researched the possible causes for days now. There is also a constant wobble in the front end at all speeds (more noticeable during slower speeds, and while turning). It used to make a grinding noise on turns as well but I think I fixed that when I flushed the power steering system. It feels like the body of the car is wobbling more so than the steering wheel (which feels tight). That leads me to believe it should not be a problem within the steering system.

So with the combination of wobble and clunking I thought I would start eliminating possible causes. Although the tires are new, I went to re-balance them and conduct a road test to see if there were any bubbles/lumps, or if the wheel was bent. Every thing checked out okay.