Stock TSX : when to replace shocks/struts

Search this Thread

Old 08-23-2009, 11:59 PM
Intermediate

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Stock TSX : when to replace shocks/struts

My TSX is approaching 90k miles. It's 100% stock, no mods. I'm a somewhat aggressive driver. To give you an idea, brake pads changed around 35-40k, tires changed around 25-30k. Is it time for new suspension? If so, how much am I looking at from the Acura dealer and should I replace all 4?
Thanks.
The following users liked this post:
Christine Selzer (10-16-2015)
Old 08-24-2009, 08:30 AM
Senior Moderator

Received 13 Likes on 11 Posts
I was kind of wondering the same thing, just haven't gotten around to checking the manual yet.

I noticed a very loud metal creaking noise that caused some alarm a few weeks ago when I sat in the car to get my sunglasses out. It definitely came from the rear. Afterward, I could reproduce it by pushing down on the trunk area, but it wasn't nearly as loud as the first creak.
Old 08-26-2009, 08:24 AM
Intermediate

any idea, anyone?
Old 08-26-2009, 09:08 AM
Someone stole "My Garage"

Received 17 Likes on 14 Posts
When my car was hit, causing damage to the strut, I asked the Honda Certified Repair Centre about this exact question. They said that all Honda shocks, especially newer models, are "lifetime" parts. They should never really need to be replaced unless they develop a significant leak (really rare). I had brought this up because I was lowered (Tein H-Tech's) but on stock struts, and they were getting bouncier.

Basically what it came down to was that for $275 CAD PER SHOCK, I was much better off buying a set of 4 Tokico "HP" (Blues) for $100 each and getting the $275 credit from the insurance company.

I confirmed the "lifetime part" statement with my Acura dealer, who as we all know are big on selling parts even if you don't need them.