Trunk release button not working - AcuraZine Community
AcuraZine Acura Forums Home Acura CL Forums Acura ILX Forums Acura MDX Forums Acura NSX Forums Acura RDX ForumsAcura RL ForumsAcura RSX ForumsAcura TL ForumsAcura TSX ForumsAcuraZine ZDX DiscussionAcuraZine Regional DiscussionAcuraZine Off Topic Discussion

Go Back   AcuraZine Community > AcuraZine TL Community > Third Generation TL (2004-2008) > Problems & Fixes
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Register Albums FAQ Members Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark All Read ExperienceUsed CarsVendor DirectoryGarage
Search
Welcome to AcuraZine Community

Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-16-2009, 2:31 AM   #1
vi3tboi
2013 MDX
Garage is empty, add now
 
vi3tboi's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Edmonton,AB
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Points: 4,171, Level: 41
Points: 4,171, Level: 41 Points: 4,171, Level: 41 Points: 4,171, Level: 41
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Trunk release button not working

So i owned my TL for about a year now and in the beginning my trunk release button worked just fine until about a few months ago it just stopped working.. I checked the switch inside the glove box and that wasn't the problem.. the only way i can open my trunk is by the remote. Does anyone know whats the problem?

Thanks
This ad is not displayed to registered or logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Acurazine!
vi3tboi is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to vi3tboi For This Useful Post:
jason321 (04-06-2014)
Old 03-16-2009, 2:53 AM   #2
tc_terencec
I MAKE NO SENSE
1993 Toyota Corolla
 
tc_terencec's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Richmond BC
Age: 24
Posts: 502
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 4,134, Level: 40
Points: 4,134, Level: 40 Points: 4,134, Level: 40 Points: 4,134, Level: 40
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
My first guess would be an electrical problem, since the switch is electronic (someone correct me if I am wrong). Check to see if all the fuses are good. If the problem persists, maybe the harsh Edmonton winter has done something to the wires.
__________________
2004 TL SSM
All flashing sidemarkers
Fujita CAI
tc_terencec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2009, 11:11 PM   #3
PeterUbers
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (1)
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
Age: 35
Posts: 4,109
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
Has anyone installed any electronics recently in your car? (ex: remote starter, aftermarket alarm, etc) or for any reason taken down the lower dash (plastic cover beneath the steering column)?

If so, the trunk switch plug may have been disconnected and not re-plugged back in.
__________________
2004 TL (SSM), 5AT, non-navi Gone!
2009 G37xS, 7AT, navi/prem, platinum
PeterUbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2009, 12:46 AM   #4
vi3tboi
2013 MDX
Garage is empty, add now
 
vi3tboi's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Edmonton,AB
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Threadstarter
Points: 4,171, Level: 41
Points: 4,171, Level: 41 Points: 4,171, Level: 41 Points: 4,171, Level: 41
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterUbers View Post
Has anyone installed any electronics recently in your car? (ex: remote starter, aftermarket alarm, etc) or for any reason taken down the lower dash (plastic cover beneath the steering column)?

If so, the trunk switch plug may have been disconnected and not re-plugged back in.
yeah i had a alarm/starter installed before the winter and the button was working at the time.. and just one day it just didnt work again..

any advice would be helpful thanks
vi3tboi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2009, 1:16 AM   #5
Will Y.
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Age: 49
Posts: 12,604
Thanks: 27
Thanked 337 Times in 290 Posts
Points: 17,438, Level: 84
Points: 17,438, Level: 84 Points: 17,438, Level: 84 Points: 17,438, Level: 84
Activity: 18.0%
Activity: 18.0% Activity: 18.0% Activity: 18.0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by vi3tboi View Post
yeah i had a alarm/starter installed before the winter and the button was working at the time.. and just one day it just didnt work again..

any advice would be helpful thanks
Reconnect the trunk button: post 9 onwards in http://tl.acurazine.com/forums/showthread.php?t=713925
__________________
Another SSM '05 TL 5AT w/Navi
Stuck in traffic somewhere in SoCal...
Will Y. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2009, 9:58 AM   #6
Majofo
Wishes he owned a..
2012 Nissan GT-R
 
Majofo's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Waffles, BU
Posts: 38,459
Thanks: 1,367
Thanked 3,502 Times in 2,500 Posts
koobecaf rettiwt nideknil $2PlayNay NSP
Points: 29,327, Level: 99
Points: 29,327, Level: 99 Points: 29,327, Level: 99 Points: 29,327, Level: 99
Activity: 18.4%
Activity: 18.4% Activity: 18.4% Activity: 18.4%
Quote:
Originally Posted by vi3tboi View Post
yeah i had a alarm/starter installed before the winter and the button was working at the time.. and just one day it just didnt work again..

any advice would be helpful thanks


- definitely check out the thread that Will posted.
Majofo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2009, 11:18 AM   #7
PeterUbers
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (1)
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
Age: 35
Posts: 4,109
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
LOL... there is a rash of trunk buttons not working in TL's and a rash of batteries not charging or dying in TL's lately....
__________________
2004 TL (SSM), 5AT, non-navi Gone!
2009 G37xS, 7AT, navi/prem, platinum
PeterUbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2009, 11:43 PM   #8
USNA93
Registered Member
2005 Acura TL
 
USNA93's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 78
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Points: 5,436, Level: 47
Points: 5,436, Level: 47 Points: 5,436, Level: 47 Points: 5,436, Level: 47
Activity: 5.3%
Activity: 5.3% Activity: 5.3% Activity: 5.3%
Thanks all...you guys saved me a trip to the dealer...I didn't even know about that glove compartment switch. I guess I flipped it when I got the manual out. All's well.
__________________
USNA93
USNA93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2009, 7:20 AM   #9
Maddizm
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Maddizm's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (5)
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,062
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Points: 10,080, Level: 67
Points: 10,080, Level: 67 Points: 10,080, Level: 67 Points: 10,080, Level: 67
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
To the OP, the alarm guy probably didn't put it back on. Just gotta go up into your panels and reconnect it.
Maddizm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009, 5:27 AM   #10
jayjay36
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Aug 2007
Age: 42
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I had the same issue with my car & still haven't resolved the issue
jayjay36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 4:00 PM   #11
aliang01
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
aliang01's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Rockville Maryland
Age: 29
Posts: 98
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I have a stock KBP TL-S and I too had my trunk release gone bad. Very very odd, it almost seems like these problems are 'timed' to go off. Anyhow, in the dealership getting fixed. Will post after I get it back.
aliang01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2009, 12:41 PM   #12
vi3tboi
2013 MDX
Garage is empty, add now
 
vi3tboi's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Edmonton,AB
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Threadstarter
Points: 4,171, Level: 41
Points: 4,171, Level: 41 Points: 4,171, Level: 41 Points: 4,171, Level: 41
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by aliang01 View Post
I have a stock KBP TL-S and I too had my trunk release gone bad. Very very odd, it almost seems like these problems are 'timed' to go off. Anyhow, in the dealership getting fixed. Will post after I get it back.
please let me know how they fixed it and did they charge you for the fix.. thanks
__________________
2013 MDX Tech| LED interior | 35% tint front| Tinted tail lights | Smoked headlights/Fogs
2006 WDP Acura TL (SOLD)
vi3tboi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2009, 9:01 PM   #13
misu3108
New Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
HELP please!!
I have an 2004 TL and I noticed that the trunk release doesn't work from within the car and I also checked for that switch in the glove compartment and it's on. If I take the key out from ignition and then press the trunk open button I HAVE TO MANUALLY open the trunk cause it's not popping up. I also noticed a that if I press my hand on the trunk when it's closed it balances up and down a little bit. It's like the lock doesn't hold it tight no more.
Please if anyone knows how to fix it let me know.

PS. I also read somewhere that it might be the actuator

Thankx Dan.
misu3108 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 2:33 PM   #14
2ndidgirl
New Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 77, Level: 1
Points: 77, Level: 1 Points: 77, Level: 1 Points: 77, Level: 1
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
I Had the same problem and the switch in the glove box had been moved to off. Now it works and problem solved
2ndidgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 11:27 PM   #15
jason321
New Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 10, Level: 1
Points: 10, Level: 1 Points: 10, Level: 1 Points: 10, Level: 1
Activity: 0.3%
Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3%
I had the same problem for over a month, and I thought there must be some connection problems. Well, thanks guys, now I know there is a switch in the glove box.
jason321 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 11:27 PM
AcuraZine
Acura Integra




Paid Advertisement


 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Tags
2000, 2006, acura, button, cl, fuse, manual, prestige, release, rl, stop, tl, trunk, tsx, work, working

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 4:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Honda and the Honda marquee are registered trademarks of the American Honda Motor Company, Inc. Neither American Honda Motor Company nor its subsidiaries or affiliates shall bear any responsibility for Acurazine.com content, comments, or advertising. Acurazine.com is not affiliated with American Honda Motor Company in any way. American Honda Motor Company does not sponsor, support, or endorse Acurazine.com in any way. Copyright/trademark/sales mark infringements are not intended or implied.
Passwords Backup