trying to detail...NBP am I doing it right?

Search this Thread

Old 06-25-2008, 07:41 AM
D.L.T

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
trying to detail...NBP am I doing it right?

Well I'm about to start trying to detail my car but first before I do that I wanted to kno couple of things...I've never done this thing before..just recently bought the PC and from what I been reading either everyone in here has experience doing this stuff or is it that easy? But other then that my plan is to clay it and then polish it...but was wondering if I can use Meguires #7 and then wax it with #26 for wax...using those two would be fine? Or am I missing something...and also I do have swirls all over my car would that be enough? Plz help
Old 06-25-2008, 07:56 AM
Suzuka Master

Received 293 Likes on 253 Posts
Check my post titled C300 ... It pretty well lays out what you need.

Megs #7 is a glaze and won't do what your wanting to.
Old 06-25-2008, 08:35 AM
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
your on the right track, but you will need to purchase a few other items....

a polish of some sort, if you cant wait and order something online, autozone usually carries a variety of meguiars polishes, but you need to know what to buy...glaze wont do what you need done as dale has stated....

pads, did you pick up any additional pads when you got the pc, orange, white and gray will most likely be needed....

and yes, the pc is that easy to use....start slow, 3-5 on the speed, get used to the feel, then when polishing to correct swirls and stuff use speed 5-6 and work it in...there are plenty of websites that have videos on how to use the machine and how to break down polish....
Old 06-25-2008, 08:55 AM
D.L.T

Thanks racerxx....so what do you recomend for a black car?...and can you give me a website where I can order some good polish? And would I need only 1 polish and then wax?...because I seen some people use more then 1 polish I don't understand why..1 is not enough?
Old 06-25-2008, 09:03 AM