My 06 TL

Search this Thread

Old 05-31-2007 | 09:43 PM
Cruising in my

My 06 TL

My 2006 TL aspec 6MT is going to be a year old this July and I'm noticing some swirls in the paint now and I'm getting concerned. It's just not as clean as I'd like it to be.
Please don't flame me but I've never really done much to the exterior of the car except frequent washes with my Mequires car wash stuff, Karcher pressure washer, and what I think is a sheep wash glove. I've been using mostly cotton cloths for drying but I've been doing some research and I kinda have an idea what I need.

For cloths I'm going to get the waffle weave, microfiber, terry cloth, and probably a new wash glove cause the hair fibers are falling out of mine.
I'll use the 2 bucket method I read about from now on.
I'm going to keep using my Meguires car wash.

I'm hoping to try claying my car but keep in mind I've never tried it before. I have read a few threads on it and feel comfortable enough to try it though. I just don't know the steps to do after claying to keep my car protected.

I read another guys post and he said:

wash > clay > polish > sealant > wax

I'm just unsure about polishing and the sealant.
What is the process and the result of polish, sealant and wax and how is the outcome of each different?
What products are good? Would I be okay sticking with one brand like Meguires or Mothers for all the products? and would I be O.K. to do all this by hand?

(Sorry I know it seems like a lot but I care about my car and I want to keep it looking good) I'll post a pic of her taken at a meet in April.
Old 05-31-2007 | 09:45 PM
Cruising in my

Old 06-01-2007 | 01:08 AM
Needs more Lemon Pledge

Looks good from afar. Maybe some close ups of the problem areas will help the pros here give you a more defined plan.

BTW, AWESOME backdrop for the photos!! Wish you had zoomed out a bit...
Old 06-01-2007 | 07:38 AM
Cruising in my

Ask and you shall receive!