M105-Review from a rookie

Search this Thread

Old 12-03-2012, 05:38 PM
Safety Car

Received 81 Likes on 50 Posts
M105-Review from a rookie

I posted this on Autopia and Autogeek earlier this year, I was a total rookie then, and kinda still am .

My 2001 Acura TL has been a great car; I have had it for 12 years, and 172k miles. Until earlier this year I was taking care of my car all wrong, and with this car being white it’s hard to see all the mistakes. Then I bought a black car and wow all mistakes are visible no matter what. So today I did some correction with M105. It was my first time using M105 and didn’t know what to expect, I have read reviews about dusting and not letting it dry.

I was going to use M205 but was really happy with the results of the HT pads with M105.

Yes there is tons of dusting, and I did have some dry on the car I had to use blackfire waterless wash to remove it. As an amateur hobbyist I must say the results are great with m105, but please please take your time and work a small section at a time, and expect to dedicate 3 hours to polishing and clean up, before applying LSP.

Wells here’s some pics, first capturing imperfections in a white car was a challenge in its self. I think I spent close to 20 mins to get a good pic, and still ended up with some mediocre shots. The paint had swirls, rids, and waterspots.

After doing a rinseless wash with Megs D114 I primed the pad like Todd H said in his M105 video on Autopia. I worked the product into pad and let it sit for a couple of minutes. And at a speed of 6 on my Megs GV110 I went to work.

Heres some before shots, again it was really hard to capture RIDS, swirls and waterspots.

The Dusting

I used the purple cobras to clean up the m105, DO NOT LET IT DRY!!! You will spend equal amount of time cleaning it up as polishing.
Overall I was really happy with M105, the results are astonishing and with a Cyan LC Hydrotech pad the results were LSP ready.