Changed o2 sensors and... HOLY CRAP!!

Search this Thread

Old 08-30-2017 | 08:48 AM
Racer

Changed o2 sensors and... HOLY CRAP!!

well guys, I've only recently came back to AZ since I had an exhaust leak and needed a jpipe. Started browsing threads again regarding maintenance and what not. Stumbled onto the mileage thread and noticed people were getting much higher mpg as me.

I've been averaging anywhere from 13-17 mpg for past 7 years. Always thought it was normal for an old v6 car. Someone mentioned try changing o2 sensors even if I have no codes popping up. Decided why not try it and ordered denso sensors.

Installed yesterday and wowww. My car drives completely different. Feels less sluggish and a bit more responsive on the throttle. I feel I don't need to gas it as much to accelerate. I'm now getting 25+ mpg mixed highway local. I'm so amazed by this. I suggest everyone change o2 if you're having bad mpg or car feels sluggish or if it's never been changed. It doesn't hurt to try. I only paid $188 for both upstream sensors!
The following 2 users liked this post by donaldso718:
llllBULLSEYE (08-31-2017), LoveMyTL-S (09-07-2017)
Old 08-30-2017 | 08:52 AM
Senior Moderator

OEM sensors?

what year is your car? how many miles etc?
Old 08-30-2017 | 08:54 AM
Racer

Originally Posted by thoiboi
OEM sensors?

what year is your car? how many miles etc?
They are denso sensors but from what I'm told Honda uses the same exact sensors but brands them as Honda.

I have a 2005 AT with 136k. I'm the second owner for the past 7+ years. I don't put much mileage on it these past few years. Mostly local city driving.
Old 08-30-2017 | 08:55 AM
Senior Moderator

Denso are good, Bosch are bad for our cars .

That's pretty awesome though, thanks for the anecdote!
The following users liked this post:
LoveMyTL-S (09-07-2017)
Old 08-30-2017 | 09:02 AM
Racer

I can't take the credit! Thanks to other posters that suggested this, the real MVPs!
Old 08-30-2017 | 11:50 AM
BANNED