Technology Get the latest on technology, electronics and software…

Need Computer Geek Help!

Old 09-27-2011, 08:52 AM
Three Wheelin'

Received 25 Likes on 21 Posts
Need Computer Geek Help!

Ok y'all. I have an old eMachines desktop and an HP laptop (I think) that are both dead in the water for different reasons. The problem is that they both have stuff on the hard drive that I NEED!! The eMachines has all of Bryanna's baby pictures, from pregnancy to probably about 2.5 years.

I guess I need to find an external hard drive case to slide the hard drives into??

I need help!! I'm not good at this kinda stuff. Where do I start?
Old 09-27-2011, 08:53 AM

Received 16,265 Likes on 11,974 Posts
I know this wont help you now, but get in the habit of backing up your important stuff.
Old 09-27-2011, 09:05 AM
Three Wheelin'

Thanks butt-cheese.
Old 09-27-2011, 09:05 AM
Regional Coordinator (Southeast)

Received 3,791 Likes on 2,555 Posts
I guess the easiest way to find you an adapter would be for you to get the model number of each machine and then I can find out what type of hard drive it has. That is unless you know if they have IDE or SATA harddrives in them already.
Old 09-27-2011, 09:10 AM
Three Wheelin'

Originally Posted by CCColtsicehockey
I guess the easiest way to find you an adapter would be for you to get the model number of each machine and then I can find out what type of hard drive it has. That is unless you know if they have IDE or SATA harddrives in them already.

(that would be a NO.) I'll get the info at lunchtime. Thanks Sweets!
Old 09-27-2011, 09:27 AM
Banned

Received 84 Likes on 67 Posts
Emachines dont let The Whiskers find out. He will go on a pro MAC rant

Yank out both HDDs, but them in a machine that can read them, IDE SATA whatever. Or bring them to someone that can do it for you.

Old 09-27-2011, 09:31 AM