Technology Get the latest on technology, electronics and software…
View Poll Results: tablet?
iPad 3rd gen.
53.85%
Nexus 7
30.77%
MS Surface
23.08%
Samsung Note 10.1
15.38%
Asus Transformer Pad Infinity
7.69%
Other
7.69%
iOS
23.08%
Android
23.08%
Windows 8/RT
30.77%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 13. You may not vote on this poll

Looking at getting a tablet... iPad vs Surface vs Nexus 7 vs Asus vs Samsung

Old 09-08-2012, 12:44 AM
uʍop ǝpısdn ǝdʎʇ uɐɔ ı

Received 47 Likes on 41 Posts
Looking at getting a tablet... iPad vs Surface vs Nexus 7 vs Asus vs Samsung

Hi all,
I'm an engineering student looking at getting a tablet for college.

Here are some quick thoughts, budget not problem with current prices, capacity not important, no need for data plan

Thoughts:
iPad 3rd gen
-concerned already out for a while now, midlife
-good email
-apps work for me
-don't have mac, would like to develop apps for it...

Nexus 7
-concerned for email compatibility for hotmail (see below)
-small size for reading ebooks and such?

MS Surface
-learning C#, can easily develop apps for it
-199$ leaked price tag
-initial app offering
-release close to end of term (distraction from exams)

Samsung Note 10.1
-has stylus
-weird app compatibility
-screen resolution low for price

Asus Transformer Pad Infinity
-nice spec android tablet
-friends getting it

iOS
-apps just work
-less tinkering ability for future engineering projects
-don't have a mac to develop apps

Android
-apps hit miss for tablets
-uncertain on email support
-good tinkering ability

Windows RT
-apps available at launch?
-easy to develop for (for me)

Features I use:
dropbox - I use this daily to grab my assignments as my engineering profs post everything in pdf's

email - I need a tablet that nicely supports multiple inboxes.