2016 ILX A-Spec - Most Dash Backlighting Out

Search this Thread

Old 10-09-2017, 12:02 PM
2nd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2016 ILX A-Spec - Most Dash Backlighting Out

Hey there. This is my first post, but I just experienced a strange backlighting failure in my 2016 ILX A-Spec this past weekend. I was at Disneyland in the parking structure Saturday, and as I was leaving, a lot of the interior illumination suddenly went out in the car. The items that went out are:

1) VSA Switch
2) Road Departure Mitigation Switch
3) CMBS Switch
4) Footwell Illumination Switch (Honda accessory from Crosstour/Civic, I'll explain below)
5) Climate Controls
6) Passenger Airbag Status Indicator
7) Nav/Radio Buttons and Interface Dial
8) Heated Seat Switches
9) PRNDL
10) Overhead LED Ambient Lighting
11) Overhead Homelink/AcuraLink Buttons

I worked for Honda corporate in Torrance before as an engineer and technical writer, so I have some knowledge of the car. I installed two footwell LEDs and one pocket LED (below the climate control) from a Civic interior light kit and the switch/wiring from an Accord Crosstour interior light switch when I got the car in June 2016. I did tap into the CMBS/RDMS switches for illumination/power back then, but I know this has nothing to do with it because the illumination failure is coming from the main source, not where I locally tapped into. This is a modified kit just to tap into the ILX. It's nice and lights up the footwells at night in the blue color.