Closed today on 1st home, looking for thoughts on painting (pics!)

Old 05-17-2010, 09:42 PM
Burning Brakes

Received 28 Likes on 24 Posts
Closed today on 1st home, looking for thoughts on painting (pics!)

Well I had settlement today on my very first home purchase......woooohooooo!

Everything went very smooth at settlement and I was done signing my life away in only an hour or so...

So, I only plan on painting one room (master bedroom) for now and I am not too sure on what brand/steps I should use. I have zero experience painting, but I do plan on doing this myself.

I have read that Benjamin-Moore and Sherwin-Williams are one of the best/easiest to use and are good quality. Any thoughts???

Although Behr is a "budget" paint from what I read, there are a lot of horror stories out there that worry me. Anyone here use it before?

Here are some pics of the room (previous owners setup) that I plan on painting. Is it really worth it to try and use one of the primer/paint all-in-one deals or just get primer AND paint?

I am open to all thoughts...thanks!
Old 05-17-2010, 10:06 PM
Sweet!

Received 80 Likes on 69 Posts
Congrats!!

I did tons of research on paint and was prepared to buy a specific paint and whatnot...but when it came down to it, I got lazy (Home Depot is the closest place that carries paint in my neighborhood) and ended up buying Behr's Paint + Primer .

All jokes aside, the paint has not disappointed me. I'm happy with how things have turned out and will continue to buy until otherwise. I've used the Behr Paint + Primer in eggshell, interior semi-gloss, and exterior semi-gloss and they've all performed as they should. No complaints here.
Old 05-17-2010, 10:07 PM
Team Owner

Received 3,864 Likes on 2,031 Posts
IMO Behr has come a long way from what it used to be. It's pretty decent paint now.

My favorite by far though is Benjamin Moore Aura. It covers really well, the finish is really nice and the palette is tasteful.
Old 05-17-2010, 10:13 PM