Building a House.... but I'm a noob

Old 11-28-2005, 03:13 PM
My Work is Done Here

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Building a House.... but I'm a noob

I think it's time I tapped into the extensive knowledge of AZ members..... So while we were out looking for houses, we stumbled across these model homes that we loved, especially since we can make changes to customize the home to our liking. We're just picky enough where this is a better option than buying (a used home), especially around these parts. So we've decided to build.

Scrib had a good thread on this subject from a couple of years ago, and I was hoping that we could elaborate on it, in hopes that we have members here with more experience now, or if the people that helped out in that thread can provide any new knowledge/experience of their own.

Basically, I'm just looking for general help across the board, so here goes.....

1) Choosing a builder... We've narrowed down our choices to four builders based on how we like their designs, quality, warranties, construction practices (like how they do the foundation/roofs/insulation, etc.), reputation, flexibilty (how much can we customize), and standard options. These four are very similar in all those areas, so is there something I'm not thinking of? How do we choose the one builder that's going to work best for us?

2) How big is too big.... The house is just for me and my wife, and we're looking at plans anywhere between ~2000 and ~2800 square feet. I really like the space in the bigger houses, but I know we don't have near enough stuff to fill all of it, and we won't be buying new furniture to fill a second (formal) living room anytime soon. We're also debating between one floor or two. We don't need a second floor, but when it comes time to sell, a second floor might help. thoughts?