Health & Fitness You're fat. Get skinny…

afraid of getting too big?

Old 05-07-2005, 09:40 AM
TLD
Mixed Martial Artist

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
afraid of getting too big?

As a former personal trainer, I've heard this statement way too many times, "I don't want to get too big". The truth is, it's just not easy to get too big because if it were, steroids wouldn't be very popular. Getting "big", according to new weightlifters, means they don't want to get overly muscular, but they just don't realize that they can't get that big overnight. I tell these newbies that if they were genetically blessed and gained muscle that easily, they shouldn't worry, they should be ecstatic. I tell them that added muscle will help them burn more calories and lose bodyfat, but they insist that too much muscle is a bad thing. If by some remote chance, someone were truly genetically blessed and gained muscle very quickly, all they'd have to do is stop working out and their muscles would atrophy in a very short time. Muscle doesn't have nearly the staying power that fat has so don't ever worry about getting "big" musclewise, worry about getting big with bodyfat.
Old 05-07-2005, 05:03 PM
I keeps it real

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Originally Posted by TLD