4G TL (2009-2014)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

A13 Minder Question- Trans Oil drain or flush?

Search this Thread

Old 09-03-2013, 07:59 AM
Instructor

Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts
A13 Minder Question- Trans Oil drain or flush?

Hey guys, Im getting my first maintenance minder on the TL....I bought her used. The A13 is oil change and Transmission Flush...Im at 60k miles on my car. Im new to this whole reminders on cars. I was always used to going by mileage on cars and not some service reminder every couple of thousand miles. I made my appointment for this Friday and they told me I have two options for the Transmission...the first one is a drain and fill and then the second is a drain and flush/fill where they empty out all 12qts and put fresh oil in while the drain/fill is where they empty out about half that and fill it up. Im confused on why would there be two options and why drain only half. Also its almost a $200 difference. I came from an Infiniti G35 Coupe and I didnt have these reminders. What do you guys suggest the full flush or just the drain and fill? Is there that much a difference and should I pay the $200 more for the flush?
Old 09-03-2013, 09:18 AM
Burning Brakes

Received 124 Likes on 107 Posts
Hi there,
You should first decide if your transmission (transaxle in a FWD car) is shifting properly, which it probably is. If the car drives and shifts properly then it is probably wise to simply do a drain and refill which is a very easy job and takes about 15 minutes. I just did it myself the other day on my 2010 FWD TL. I don't know where you got your figures but I think the total ATF volume is only 7.5 L (about 7.9 U.S. qts. check your manual, p.578 in mine) The synthetic fluid is about $10/qt.