Newbie question: different brands of tire & type of tread on front/rear

Search this Thread

Old 11-12-2016, 09:41 AM
Intermediate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Newbie question: different brands of tire & type of tread on front/rear

I tried looking this up here, & in my manual.
I'm a newbie, & the info is conflicting so please bear with me & don't send me back to the search.

I've only owned the RDX for 4 days.

I just realized that my '08 RDX has 2 different brands of tires, with different tread patterns.
I didn't notice the difference when I bought it, I just noticed the tires were new, so didn't look closer.

The front is Hankook something or other, & the rear is Venezia .
The tires are basically new, but I think this might be an issue since the tread is a different pattern, but I don't know for sure.
The tread is similar, but I don't know if that is 'good enough'.
I can't post pics yet to show you the difference.

How much of an issue is this with the RDX?
I've mixed brands with a Subaru in the past, but the tread pattern was an EXACT MATCH, not just similar.
I don't know if my tread pattern is *similar enough* for this vehicle.

My owners manual does say you can replace just 2 tires with similar tread/wear, if you keep the front the same & rear the same brand & wear, but goes into that just a little, but recommends having all 4 the same.
What the owners manual says doesn't satisfy my question.
In the real world, is this going to cause damage to anything?
I can't edit yet either, so will post the exact tire info in my next post.

Mainly, I'm concerned about how fast damage can occur if this is an issue. This is my daily driver & I'd need time to schedule a change if necessary & need to drive in the mean time.
Old 11-12-2016, 10:11 AM
Intermediate

Front: Hankook M+S radial tubeless 235-55r18 100v

Rear: Venezia M+S 235-55-r18 100v Crossroad XT radial tubeless
Old 11-12-2016, 01:35 PM
mrgold35

Received 1,508 Likes on 1,176 Posts