Xover placement

Search this Thread

Old 04-08-2005, 06:04 PM
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Xover placement

Some background. I'm new to the forum. I purchase my 05 TSX w/Navi about a month ago and I'm enjoying it everyday. Now I want to upgrade the audio system: MB Quart PCE216 in the front doors, MB Quart PCE164 add a woofer in the rear doors, Tang band 6.5 sub-woofers in the rear deck mounted on 1/2" thk ABS DIY adapter plates. I'll be using an old PPI5440 amp I have laying around until I upgrade it to JL Audio 500/5 or PPI DCX800-5.

Anyways, the MB Quarts came with these huge Xovers that I want to mount close to the amp in the trunk, and run six pairs of speaker wires (2 tweets, and 4 mids) to tap into the OEM speaker wires near the OEM amp.

Do you see any problem doing it this way? Would it be better to mount the Xover closer to the speakers.

Thank you for your response.

Nick
Old 04-08-2005, 06:35 PM
El Presidente

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I am not an expert when it comes to running speaker wire, but i have noticed that most of the installs done by StreetEffectz and DerrickM that i have seen, mount the crossovers on the door. Why exactly, i dont know, but i am just making an observation.
Old 04-08-2005, 07:06 PM
Racer

Welcome to the forum Nick.

I have never seen the inside of a TSX door, so I don't have much to offer. Maybe StreetEffectz (Ron) can lend some ideas. Elduderino is also very knowledgeable about the TSX, but I think he's in Vegas for the weekend.
Old 04-08-2005, 08:15 PM
Burning Brakes

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
ok .. i know what you are talkin about....

Best way to do it is this:

Run the speaker wire for the tweeters, fron door woofer, and rear door woofer from the trunk down to the middle consol .. tap into the bigger plug at the oem amp location. connect the wire from the amp to the wire on the plug by tapping into it and you'll be good. the woofer in the rear deck is right there by the amp .. no need to run extra wires