Voice Controlled Cold Cathode Fluorescence Lamp in Trunk

Search this Thread

Old 04-21-2004, 11:24 PM
Master in Science

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Lightbulb Voice Controlled Cold Cathode Fluorescence Lamp in Trunk

I read in another thread about this cool installation with a Cold Cathode Fluorescence Lamp in the trunk, and decided to try a similar setup. Here's my experience:

The trunk light only comes on when the trunk is open. Splice the wires to the new lamp and you have a better lighting setup than stock (brighter and more cool) that comes on automatically when you want it. Make sure the lamp you get is 12V DC. I got the following one, which was designed for computer towers.

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...883-005&depa=1

There are other models. But this one had high reliability reviews and came from a web site with very high feedback (I have lots of good experiences with NewEgg, too).

It's voice activated (though you can turn that feature off), and it works really nice. The color is more white than blue, yet I'm very satisfied. I can turn the lamp off when I want it, unlike OEM.

The silver object is my JL amp.

Notice the power setup glued to the underside of the rear deck. All wires are tied out of the way of the trunk springs.

Side view.

Bottom up view.

View of trunk.

So, how bright is it?

Be careful when doing the wiring!! I burned a fuse and created a mess. Then I moved another fuse to see if the new lights worked and things got worst. All the electronics in the car reset (i.e. radio, navigation, car's computer, etc.). Got new fuses and everything works great.
Old 04-22-2004, 12:04 AM
Don't listen to me.

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Looks kind of dark on one side. I have the www.SCV.com lights that are really bright and work pretty much the same way(no voice feature). I'll take a pic to compare.
Old 04-22-2004, 02:14 AM
Master in Science

Originally posted by ortiz