Sirius Sat. Radio Install...

Search this Thread

Old 09-02-2004, 06:38 PM
Licensed Driver

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Sirius Sat. Radio Install...

So I just traded my Ford Probe GT in for a new TSX about two weeks ago (already put 3000 miles on it)... Don't miss a thing about the Probe except that it had Sirius Satellite Radio and I hadn't listened to FM in the last 8 months (I know... I'm a satellite radio snob). So I was forced to attack the install... but a little apprehensive about doing anything to my new TSX since I have little experience with stuff like this.

Decided to put up some pics of the final product…

Here’s the Kenwood Controller placed in the CD storage compartment. I had to cut the corners off the plastic molding that came with the controller to accommodate the compartment door hinge. Also, I tried to secure it with Velcro but that was too thick making the door difficult to operate (since you have to push it in for it to open). Then I tried some 3M double sided tape… that lasted about a couple of hours in the heat. So I gave up and crazy glued the son of a bitch to the compartment. Now it works like a dream. The door can be closed just like before… The SNDHOND3 and Kenwood Controller/Modulator Box were crammed into the space behind the storage compartment.

For power supply, I didn’t want to damage or splice into any factory wiring… So I check out the fuse box and found some empty slots. The top row has empty slots that provide switched (ACC) power and the middle row has empty slots that provide constant power. The bolt under the fuse box is convenient to use as a ground. I used the Mini Add-A-Circuit that I bought at Auto Zone to place into the fuse box (I had purchased two of these before looking at the fuse box).