my newest project -- need some opinions...

Search this Thread

Old 11-27-2006, 11:40 AM
04 CGP, quartz, navi

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
my newest project -- need some opinions...

First, I just want to quickly say how much I learn from everyone on this site every day. I just went to my high school reunion and ran into a former classmate and her husband. Her husband works for Honda and she drives a TSX. They saw me pull up in a TSX, so there was already an instant bond. We talked Acura/Honda throughout dinner, and thanks to so much of the cool stuff I've learned on this site in the past year or so, I think we all got a lot out of it and had some great fun.

But anyway...here's my project...

THE GOAL:
I have an '04 TSX with navi, and I'm trying to get XM in my car. I'd like to keep as much of the factory setup as possible...including being able to use the steering wheel controls for changing XM channels. Also note that I'm still a novice with car audio, so I'm not going to try to tackle anything too ambitious. If it gets too involved, I'd pay a pro to do it.

WHAT I'VE CHECKED INTO SO FAR:

OPTION #1: I started by trying to find a way to take the XM equipment from an 05-06 and hook it into my system. There are lots of 05-06 owners who don't use their XM (including my classmate at the reunion...which made me so jealous of her 06), so I figured it'd be easy to buy the equipment from someone for cheap and get it installed. This would (in theory) make XM seamlessly integrated like it is in an 05-06. But it doesn't seem to be an option. Everyone I've talked with, including several Acura dealers, say that it's impossible to bring XM into the factory setup in an 04. Scratch #1 off my list.

OPTION #2: Next, I started exploring something one of the guys at the dealership's parts department told me about...the dealer add-on that goes in the "not an ashtray" for adding XM to an 04 TSX: (link)