MB Quart vs. Kappa?

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-2002, 02:09 AM
Pro

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
MB Quart vs. Kappa?

I am a newbie to the site and have only had my new TLS for about 3 weeks. However, I already can't stand the factory Bose system...

On the other hand, I don't want to go to extreme measures to upgrade the system. I don't want to gut the entire car at this point in time. I know, I know, I should toss out all of the factory audio and start from scratch with super amps and super speakers and super woofers, etc.

I don't want to go to that extreme until I prove to myself that there is no other option. I don't listen to heavy bass rap or hiphop, so the woofer situation is just fine for me. I realize that that is not the case for some of you.

WHAT I WOULD LIKE TO DO is to try and just upgrade the door speakers with new 61/2 inch multi-element versions, so that I don't have to mount anything extra (yet) and then see if that improves the sound enough for me to live with (at least for awhile). I have found that the two best speakers for this (without going to separate components) is the MB Quart RKC116 or the Infinity Kappa 62.3I or 63.3I. Does anyone know which one is the EASIEST to install? Which one requires the least mod work to make fit? My concern with the MB Quart is that it may not be efficient enough to be driven by the factory amp? I can't find a dealer that stocks both of these, so I can't actually hear the sound level output between the two.

I would appreciate any info that anyone can provide on this matter. I realize that this is still going to be a compromised system, but can you help answer me these questions.

1. Will I notice a decent level of improvement by simply replacing the door speakers and leaving EVERYTHING else alone?