Avincar TSX Install/Review

Search this Thread

Old 12-29-2006 | 08:36 PM
Instructor

Avincar TSX Install/Review

I just finished installing Eldude's Avincar TSX 8 speaker upgrade and the results are much better than I had hoped for. The complete install took me about 3 days, but only because of the demands for time during the week of Christmas. Here is my review of the install. A sidenote here, I am not technically gifted by any means, and I was hard on toys as a child, so the fact the I was able to complete this install without any major screwups is a testament that ANYONE can do it...

Tweeters: These were relatively easy to install. The old tweets pop out easily with the use of a micro screwdriver. Once popped out just undo the clip and put the tweeter to the side. The wires came from the factory just long enough to plug in the tweeter, so installing the included T-Taps is a bit precarious to say the least. I decided to clip off the OEM harness at the end of the wires to make the wires easier to get to, but this decision is permanent so make sure you want to do it. In the process of clipping the Taps to the wires I managed to mangle two of the Taps with the pliers. Off to the store to get more. In the end I dropped the Taps into the holes more than I want to admit (luckily they work their way out eventually) but got it done eventually. Once installed just plug the tweeter into the T-Tap and drop it into the hole for a perfect fit. One of the tweeters arrived dead, and I must give Ken credit for getting me a replacement delivered the next day before noon.