Audio Dilemma--Assistance please

Search this Thread

Old 10-22-2004, 03:42 PM
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Audio Dilemma--Assistance please

Hello...

I am planning on replacing the factory stereo system with all new speakers, amp, and sub.

I am an amateur, so these may sound like dumb questions...but I'd appreicate any input you may be able to offer:

1. If I replace everything but the head unit...will I be wasting my money? Or will I notice an improvement if I replace the std speakers with superior ones while keeping the bose cd/cassette deck?

2. Is 12" Sub overkill for such a small vehicle...Will a 10" sub produce a decent amount of bass? I prefer clarity in sound over loudness, but still enjoy a nice thump.

3. What is the differenece between a multi channel amp and a mono amp? What would I need a multi channel amp for?

4. Is MB Quart a good brand of equipment?

5. Is there a website that offers Acura CL car audio insight and information?

6. Can I significantly improve the music listening experience in my car for around $800-$1000. I would like a 10" sub, an amplifier, a new component set, and only a new head unit if necessary.

Thanks for any insight you may be able to offer to this amateur.
Peace
DetroitCL-S
Old 10-22-2004, 03:51 PM
Drifting

wrong forum, but do a search in the audio section and you will learn all you need to know...
Old 10-22-2004, 04:02 PM
Yeehaw

Received 26 Likes on 5 Posts
Originally Posted by DetroitCL-S

1. If I replace everything but the head unit...will I be wasting my money? Or will I notice an improvement if I replace the std speakers with superior ones while keeping the bose cd/cassette deck?

No, you won't be wasting your money. The stock deck will work just fine with aftermarket amps and speakers.

2. Is 12" Sub overkill for such a small vehicle...Will a 10" sub produce a decent amount of bass? I prefer clarity in sound over loudness, but still enjoy a nice thump.