TL: Aftermarket HU Help

Search this Thread

Old 06-30-2014 | 12:34 PM
1st Gear

Aftermarket HU Help

Hi everyone. This is my first post to Acurazine though I have been referencing the forums for DIY help for a couple years now. I'm not completely unfamiliar with car audio, but I still have a lot of questions to get the optimal sound in my 2003 Acura TL. I have a crap 2000 watt Sound Storm amp and a beautiful old school 12" Kicker solo baric and JL W3 in my trunk. My oem HU recently burned out on me (too many burned CDs apparently) and I am ordering a Kenwood Excelon receiver. I know this question has been asked but I'm still having trouble understanding exactly what cables/adaptors I'll need integrate the stock Bose with my new HU and subs.

Do I simply need the PAC-HON adaptor? Or should I bypass the Bose amp (which often kills a lot of the power to my subs) and just run RCA cables to my subs? Thank you.
Old 06-30-2014 | 08:09 PM
Instructor

Originally Posted by Kanash
Hi everyone. This is my first post to Acurazine though I have been referencing the forums for DIY help for a couple years now. I'm not completely unfamiliar with car audio, but I still have a lot of questions to get the optimal sound in my 2003 Acura TL. I have a crap 2000 watt Sound Storm amp and a beautiful old school 12" Kicker solo baric and JL W3 in my trunk. My oem HU recently burned out on me (too many burned CDs apparently) and I am ordering a Kenwood Excelon receiver. I know this question has been asked but I'm still having trouble understanding exactly what cables/adaptors I'll need integrate the stock Bose with my new HU and subs.

Do I simply need the PAC-HON adaptor? Or should I bypass the Bose amp (which often kills a lot of the power to my subs) and just run RCA cables to my subs? Thank you.