Need help: 2022 TLX weak starts

Search this Thread

Old Today | 10:05 AM
3rd Gear

Exclamation Need help: 2022 TLX weak starts

Hello everyone. Recently signed up, but I'm a longtime lurker. I need some advice:

My 2022 TLX A-Spec 2.0 (28,000 miles), for the past 6 mos or so, has been giving me inconsistent, but persistent weak starts. It always fires up no problem first start of the day in the morning, but only does this weak start after I've driven the car once or twice and it rests for 1-4 hours, then I restart it again (days when I'm in the office and I go to lunch, or at the end of the work day when I go home). When I press the brake and hit the start button, it struggles to turn over for 4-7 seconds, before it finally does... weakly. To this point it has always started (never left me stranded). I'm not a mechanic, but to me, it sounds like an engine that is not getting fuel? Like it needs a choke? IDK. See video attached (turn up audio). This is the best video I've been able to get of it, but it's done the weak start attempt for much longer than the few seconds here.