'15 TLX Tires

Search this Thread

Old 03-15-2019, 03:38 PM
7th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
'15 TLX Tires

Newbie here...i just purchased a '15 TLX and it looks like it's needing new tires. I've read a lot of the previous posts but nothing seems up-to-date so... I'm looking for your suggestions for tires, the car currently has the Bridgestone RE97's... so this is my reference point. They "seem" quiet, handle well, i haven't driven in a typical Houston downpour, just a light rain. My priorities are....long lasting as I put a lot of miles on a car, quite, nice ride (too old for "extreme spirited" driving), good in rain (don't need snow or ice...we'll just stay home on that day), and reasonably priced.

I'm at the point of "paralysis by analysis"...I've looked at just about every tire website and reviews so I'm thoroughly confused now. Some of the tires I've looked at are: Continental Extreme Contact DWS06, Yokohama Advan Sport & Avid Ascend, BF Goodrich Comp2 AS, and sticking with the current RE97's. I thought about the Michelin's but I think they're out of my price range at the moment, I had just purchased a set of Michelins 3 weeks ago for my Camry...that was totaled a seven days later!!!

Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you
Old 04-05-2019, 09:50 PM
Three Wheelin'

Received 319 Likes on 228 Posts
The stock Potenza tires were garbage imo. I somehow managed to use them for about 32k miles until I swapped them for the Michelin A/S 3+ tires, which I find to be a far superior tire.

I think the Conti DWS got great reviews and I almost considered them for my car, but got a pretty good deal on the Michelins. Though also I wouldn't cheap out on tires either as they're the parts that separate you from the ground and if properly maintained (tire rotations and tire pressure) will last a long time and you will get your money's worth.

Good luck.
Old 04-08-2019, 12:44 PM
7th Gear