Driver's Door Leather

Search this Thread

Old 07-21-2009, 12:07 PM
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Driver's Door Leather

So I went out to pick up some detailing products on Sunday, and when getting back into my car I noticed this:

So I called the dealer yesterday, and took it in today. They were friendly and gave me a RDX Tech loaner. Not bad, I like it more than the TSX, but it's definitely no TL SH-AWD.

4 hours later I receive a call from the service manager telling me that they tried to put the leather back into the panel, but it won't stay so they have to order an entirely new panel. Then he says they're on national backorder so there's going to be a wait.

Is anyone else in this same situation? For the part to be on national backorder, there must be a pretty decent amount of people with screwed up driver's doors.

I'm kind of frustrated over the situation, but maybe that's because it's my first time being in a situation like this.

How often should I call them back to stay on top of it if I don't hear from them? Every 2 weeks?
Old 07-21-2009, 05:28 PM
Yea, It's Me!

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Normally if they order parts they will call you when it comes in and also usually send out a post card in the mail. If you don't hear anything within a week, give your service advisor a courtesy call.
Old 07-22-2009, 10:04 PM
Intermediate

Acura had a similar problem on a 96 Integra GSR that I had back in 1996. If I recall it took several weeks for the door panel to arrive at the dealership. Of course, the GSR was built in Japan so I suspect that door panel had to come from Japan.
Old 08-03-2009, 10:50 AM
10th Gear

Here's the story with the backorder on the door panels:

I actually have the same issue that I am working to have resolved, however the dealer is compounding the matter on a weekly basis. Short version of the story is that they began shipping on the 30th of July and they should be available now. Check back with your dealer.