Crooked Steering wheel?

Search this Thread

Old 01-17-2010, 09:59 AM
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Crooked Steering wheel?

There have been other post about this, but I noticed that my steering wheel is cocked to the left?

I actually measured from same point on both sides of wheel to seat back and it's over an inch difference?

If I stand outside of car on driver side and look in, I can really see it?

Please try this with yours and post your finding!

I'm no expert, but shouldn't the steering wheel be perfectly perpendicular to driver position looking straight ahead?

An earlier poster said his dealer said this was the way car was designed?

Love to hear comments from experts!

Thanks!
Old 01-17-2010, 05:05 PM
Burning Brakes

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Take it back to the dealer. They can fix this easily. If there are no alignment issues then it's just a matter of tie rod adjustments. Mine wasn't that off and I had no alignment issues but they took car of it.
Old 01-17-2010, 06:30 PM
Intermediate

I actually saw another TL in the parking lot today and looked in the driver side window, and it looked like that steering wheel was the same way?

Can that be the proper design? Seems odd!
Old 01-17-2010, 10:08 PM
Burning Brakes

Now that I re-read your post I misinterpreted what you said. I'll have to check tomorrow when I go to work. Off hand I don't notice it on mine.

You should have titled it as "steering wheel not parallel to driver".
Old 01-23-2010, 01:21 PM
Intermediate

Had car at dealer today and asked about the steering wheel being off? (see my earlier post on this thread)

Guy said they were designed that way. I got in 2 others and sure enough, they were the same!

Why would a steering wheel, by design, align to the driver's left? Is there some technical reason?

In other words, the steering wheel is not perfectly parallel to the front axle.

Look at yours and tell me if it's not the same?

Why would that be?
Old 01-24-2010, 01:57 AM