Upgrade Time. Test Drive Results and Questions!

Search this Thread

Old 04-17-2014, 04:17 PM
Cruisin'

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Upgrade Time. Test Drive Results and Questions!

Hi! Forum newbie here, but a longtime lurker.

I'm looking to get some advice on my upcoming car purchase. Note that I'm not a car "enthusiast" but I do like to do a lot of research before making purchases and enjoy a modestly fun ride. I'm also a single guy, late 20s, plan on owning the car for 7-10 years, and hope to start a family in the next 3+ years. (Finding the right girl is a challenge!)

I currently have an '05 TSX (non-navi) with 63k miles that has done very well for me over the years (no real issues) but is beginning to show its age; I bought it in '07. I'm about ready to trade it in for a newer Acura.

My biggest complaints about the TSX: lots of road noise, rough ride on mediocre-to-poor roads, interior is a little cramped (back seats especially), and there's a lack of power in freeway passing situations. I love everything else about the car though, from its styling (interior and exterior) to its handling to its comfort to its reliability.

I recently test drove some newer models at Acura of Lynnwood (north of Seattle) and came away with the following impressions:

2012 TL Base (FWD): Comfortable ride, but the car felt kind of bloated and large in corners. The power getting on freeways and in passing situations is better than my current TSX, but not as smooth and powerful as I was hoping for. Decent car, but the experience felt bloated and slightly sluggish overall.