Transmission being quirky

Search this Thread

Old 08-14-2016, 05:50 PM
Intermediate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Transmission being quirky

I noticed it likes hang low at 1500 RMPs and has a little difficulty getting up there and the needle will bounce going at a steady pace, is this normal or is there some sort of problem? I'm pretty new to modern AT and this one is the 6AT. Any advice would be appriciated thanks.
Old 08-14-2016, 06:11 PM
Drifting

Received 678 Likes on 367 Posts
Please Read the current TSB announcement posts. What year is your car, assuming '12-'14 TL? You have to search problems/fixes
Old 08-14-2016, 07:31 PM
Pro

Received 48 Likes on 44 Posts
Torque converter.
Old 08-14-2016, 10:19 PM
Senior Moderator

Received 2,013 Likes on 1,432 Posts
This can be caused to due dirty (old) fluid in the transmission. You can only drain and refill 3.3 quarts of the 9-10 quarts the transmission holds.

Staying at 1500 RPM (more like 1100 with 6AT) is completely normal however the RPMS shouldn't be bouncing around. If the fluid change does not solve the issue, you need to go to acura to have the torque converter replaced.
Old 08-14-2016, 11:20 PM
Intermediate

I also noticed today going up a hill or even slight incline it'll be real hesitant to accelerate. I was thinking it might need a fluid change and possibly put some Lucas or Ames trans oil in it and see what happens. I'm warrantied another 3 years or 49000 miles.
Old 08-14-2016, 11:22 PM
Intermediate

Originally Posted by GhostTL09
Please Read the current TSB announcement posts. What year is your car, assuming '12-'14 TL? You have to search problems/fixes
It's a '12
Old 08-14-2016, 11:23 PM
Intermediate

Originally Posted by csmeance
This can be caused to due dirty (old) fluid in the transmission. You can only drain and refill 3.3 quarts of the 9-10 quarts the transmission holds.