Newb... maybe a bit paranoid?

Search this Thread

Old 04-15-2014, 08:40 PM
Advanced

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Newb... maybe a bit paranoid?

So I bought a Used 2012 TL FWD Recently. Have had it for 3 weeks now. Love the car. I never felt as if I was a driver and liked driving but after driving this car, I cannot wait til I get back in the car each day after work.

After having it for a couple of weeks it could be that I am a bit paranoid or their is an issue or two. I did have my mechanic look at the car and he said it was in good condition, no issue.

When the car is cold and I am idling (say after I get in my car after being in the work parking lot and waiting stuck in traffic) I hear this gurgling sound coming from the hood. What is this? Is this something I should be concerned about?

This ones more weird / paranoid. After hitting a bump or sometimes braking with my hand off the wheel the car veers one way. Now this does not always happen but usually on the main streets. As i drove around my residential street and while going various speeds with braking etc it goes in a straight line. It also goes in a straight line off the 407 (live in Toronto, ON). Is this normal? Can I just blame the roads on this? Again my mechanic said no alignment issue.

Thanks! Hoping for the best here
Old 04-15-2014, 08:52 PM
Racer

Received 74 Likes on 35 Posts
For your first issue (gurgling)... is it more like a ticking sound? When you're in drive, waiting on a red light with your foot on the brake? If so that should be normal as Acura and Honda engines are usually pretty ticky.

As for your second issue, it depends on the slope of the road. Urban roads are sloped to the side for drainage to sewers so if you let go of your steering wheel, it'll naturally veer to the right (or left). Best to test this on a very level road... say like the middle lane on a highway.
The following users liked this post:
kev87a (04-15-2014)
Old 04-15-2014, 08:59 PM
Advanced