My 2012 TL SH-AWD Review

Search this Thread

Old 08-07-2013, 02:06 PM
2nd Gear

Received 4 Likes on 1 Post
My 2012 TL SH-AWD Review

Hey all,
So I am no "car expert" but I have owned a LOT of cars ranging over a LOT of different price ranges. I have owned beaters/Honda Civics up to Mercedes/BMW/Infiniti. They have been family cars, SUVs and pure sports cars (Prelude SH, Mustang GT, Corvette). I have also owned other "sports sedans" from old school Nissan Maxima SE to Audi A6 2.7T sport (up chipped, aftermarket coil overs, exhaust..) and Infiniti M45 sport. So I have a good variety of car experience under my belt.
Likewise, I am not a Acura fanboy or troll. I have always respected what the TL was for the $$$ and have checked them out a couple of times over the years. I finally bought a 2012 SH-AWD Tech that I have been driving for about 6 months and felt it was time to give it a full review.

Looks
This is very subjective. I never liked the "beak" and thought the new nose was an improvement though slightly plain. Front 3/4" view is nice. Trunk isn't really my thing and I don't really love the rear view. I don't hate it either...just kind of MEH.

Engine
The 3.7 engine is pretty nice. Smooth with a fairly wide power range although it feels a little soft on torque at the low end (<2500RPM). When purchased I compared against an Infiniti M37 and that engine is FAR more thrashy and FAR more peaky. This engine is smooth, sounds pretty good and pulls well.

Steering
I like the weighting of the steering but the "feel" is weak. To understand the difference you really need to push the car to it's limits and get the front wheels squealing a little. In a "good" steering feel car you will actually feel the steering wheel lighten and get feedback that the tires are slipping. In this car you hear the squeal but don't feel it. Over all size of the steering wheel is good and I like the thickness. Wish the leather was perforated which gives a little better grip but that is minor.